E.L.F Studio Matte Lip Color Review and Swatches

$3 at eyeslipsface.com, some Walmarts, Targets, Kmarts

I managed to pick 2 of my 3 colors up at Dollar Tree for $1 (!) but there’s no guarantee that your local store will have them

“This convenient jumbo sized lip pencil creates exact color application with twist up ease so you never have to sharpen. The pigment rich color glides on effortlessly and easily to provide long lasting matte color. The enriched Vitamin A, C & E formula moisturizes and hydrates lips for beautiful healthy looking lips.”

I’ll go right out and say that I love these.

I was hesitant to buy online because I know what ‘matte’ usually means – looking patchy on my semi-dry lips.  I ran into an ELF endcap at Walmart and picked up Natural to try it out.  Possibly my best $3 I’ve spent in a while. LOL

The packaging is pretty basic, but nice looking.  It has a colored piece at the bottom which makes it easy to identify which color you’re going for.

This isn’t jumbo by any means, but it’s shape does allow for easy application.  You can keep this shape pretty easily because it includes a ‘hidden’ sharpener at the end of the pencil. I say that because I just discovered a few days ago.  It is clever though.

IMG_20130910_192459

Despite being matte, this doesn’t sink into every little line on my lips.  It’s creamy, applies smoothly, and does not dry out my lips.  This has pretty average staying power for a lipstick, about 3-4 hours.

The only problems I’ve had with this product is with the packaging, and I was able to fix it.  My oldest one, Natural, decided that it wasn’t going to twist up.  I turned it upside down and gave it a few strikes against my desk and the problem sorted itself out.

Coral

Natural

Rich Red

Pros

Cruelty Free

Creamy texture

Doesn’t look patchy on lips

Cons

Typical packaging of ELF, can be flimsy or break

Overall

9/10

Overall, I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Leave a Reply

