My stance on cruelty free brands and their parent companies

There’s been much discussion and debate on whether cruelty free brands owned by parent companies that do test are truly cruelty free, and that’s not a question that’s easily answered.

So I’m throwing in my personal opinion and stance.

I believe that this is something that each individual needs to decide for themselves. I don’t believe there is really a right or wrong answer; or that anyone is better than anyone else for what they decide.

I personally support these brands in the hope that their parent companies see that they are important and profitable without testing on animals. I hope that this is a step in abolishing animal testing.

This is my personal opinion and I know there are people with much stronger feelings on this issue, and I believe that’s ok. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion on this and I respect that.

4 thoughts on “My stance on cruelty free brands and their parent companies

  1. veganneeds says:

    I do agree with you on this! it is pretty much a personal decision..
    for me the fact that these companies function under a parent company that tests has always been an uneasy feeling… Why do they function under them and how much are they really influenced by the ingredients that have been tested… it is a bit of a grey area.. But i do agree that the cruelty-free stamp should be supported! Hopefully these brands can branch out on their own…
    I also read that companies pay for their names to appear on the Peta list, although I would like to believe that peta investigates these claims… I simply don’t know!!! sorry that was a long rant! haha

    • Amanda Elisabeth says:

      Yeah I’m not entirely sure. Branching out, expanding, exposure….? But I don’t know much about those things. It does make me a bit uneasy too, but I try to trust that these brands who have been proud cruelty free brands will continue to do so despite their parent company.

      About PETA, I really don’t know what to believe honestly. I’ve heard a lot of stuff, good and bad about them.

      It’s ok for the rant 😉 always appreciative of input!

Leave a Reply

